'Decision to Leave,' Park Eun-bin take top honors at Baeksang Arts Awards

Actor Park Eun-bin speaks after receiving the Grand Prize in Television at the 59th Baeksang Arts Awards ceremony held at Paradise City in Incheon on Friday. [PARK SE-WAN]

This year’s highest honors at the Baeksang Arts Awards went to director Park Chan-wook’s “Decision to Leave” and actor Park Eun-bin for “Extraordinary Attorney Woo.”

At the 59th Baeksang Arts Awards ceremony held at Paradise City in Incheon on Friday, “Decision to Leave” won the Grand Prize in the Film Category while Park won the Grand Prize in the Television category.

Park, who played protagonist Woo Young-woo, an attorney with autism spectrum disorder in “Extraordinary Attorney Woo,” said during her acceptance speech that she “wants to cherish the steps of Young-woo, who took things step-by-step to acknowledge, accept and embrace her life.”

“Decision to Leave” was awarded not only the Grand Prize but also the Best Director Award for Park Chan-wook and the Best Actress Award for Tang Wei, winning three awards in a row. Director Park was unable to attend due to engagements overseas, so only the production team and Tang Wei were present at the ceremony.

“The Night Owl” also won three awards, including Best Picture, Best Actor for Ryu Jun-yeol, and New Director Award for Ahn Tae-jin.

“Next Sohee” won awards in two categories: Best Screenplay and New Female Actress Award for Kim Si-eun.

In the television category, the Netflix original “The Glory” won three awards — the Best Drama Award, Best Actress Award for Song Hye-kyo and Best Female Supporting Actress Award for Lim Ji-yeon.

In the Best Entertainment Program category, “Psick Show Season 3” from the YouTube channel Psick University took the prize. The Baeksang Arts Awards began selecting content from YouTube channels as candidates for awards for the first time this year in consideration of the changes in the way people view content.