aespa to release new music in May

Girl group aespa [SM ENTERTAINMENT]

Girl group aespa is set to make a comeback in May, the group’s agency, SM Entertainment, said Friday.

The new release will be aespa's first in seven months since its fourth EP, “Drama,” dropped last November. The agency has not revealed whether it will be a single, EP or full album.

A physical edition of “Inspired By,” a collection of theme songs from Netflix's upcoming film “Rebel Moon — Part Two” also went on sale at midnight Thursday, the agency also announced. aespa participated in one of the tracks, “Die Trying,” which was released digitally on Wednesday.

The sci-fi action film, a continuation of its prequel, “Rebel Moon” (2023), will further delve into the story of protagonist Kora and other outcast warriors’ rebel against the imperialistic Motherworld’s army. Its ensemble cast includes Oscar winner Anthony Hopkins, Sofia Boutella, Djimon Hounsou, Michiel Huisman, Ray Fisher and Korean actor Bae Doona. The film is set for release on April 19.

aespa teamed up with Korean-American DJ TOKiMONSTA for “Die Trying,” the theme song for Bae’s character Nemesis. “Inspired By” also includes tracks from Canadian singer-songwriter Jessie Reyez, Puerto Rican pop producer Tainy and Dominican rapper Tokischa.

The group wrapped up its first world tour, “Synk: Hyper Line,” with a Paris concert in September. The tour stopped in 21 cities for 31 concerts and was documented in the film “aespa: World Tour in Cinemas,” which hits Korean and Japanese theaters on April 10.

To find out more about aespa, visit Celeb Confirmed!