Production staff recognized for work behind the scenes at awards ceremony

Popular Culture and Arts Production Staff Awards [MINISTRY OF CULTURE, SPORTS AND TOURISM]

The government will award 19 production staff members behind Korea’s popular video content in an annual award ceremony jointly hosted by the Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism and the Korea Creative Content Agency (Kocca).

The Popular Culture and Arts Production Staff Awards, celebrating its 7th anniversary this year, is the only government award system in Korea dedicated to recognizing and encouraging the production teams working behind the scenes that have significantly contributed to the advancement of the country's popular culture and arts industry.

This year’s ceremony will take place on Thursday at Stanford Hotel in Mapo District, western Seoul.

A total of 19 individuals will be awarded: six by the Minister of Culture and 13 by Kocca.

The Culture Ministry's commendations will go to: Kim Young-il, CEO of Tristar Audio, who has played a pivotal role in promoting K-pop globally through collaborations with various artists, such as BTS's world tour; and Kim Mi-kyung, CEO of Messo Company, recognized for her work as a technical director in major musical productions like “Jekyll & Hyde” and “Man of La Mancha,” for the Popular Music category.

Music director Kwon Tae-eun, who has directed the music for over 60 programs, including “Phantom Singer” and “Singer Again”; Kim Sung-mi, a cinematographer who has traversed difficult terrains to capture vivid footage in productions like “Don’t Cry for Me Sudan” and “Documentary Three Days”; and Kim Jong-wook, a KBS researcher recognized for his outstanding contributions for over 30 years in broadcast video design and brand identity, will also be honored for broadcasting.

Kim Yun-su, a cinematographer and member of the Korean Society of Cinematographers known for his high-quality cinematography in films like “Memento Mori” (1999), will receive the film award.

Kocca’s commendations will go to: Doyeun, CEO of Poete de L’eau, for costume design; Lee Jung-ki, CEO of GridPoint for lighting; Noh Byeong-woo, a stage director; and Seo Sook-jin, another stage designer, for the Popular Music category.

Ahn Gye-hyeon, a cinematographer at Bravo Pictures; So Eun-suk, a VFX supervisor at SBS A&T; Noh Eun-ju, EBS stage designer; Ki Chong-mo, a DI colorist at MBC; Ahn Ik-soo, a sound effects director; and Jeong Jong-hoon, an art director, will be awarded in the broadcasting category.

Jung Hoon, a special equipment cinematographer at The Grip, Choi Jeong-hwa, chairman of the Producers Guild of Korea, and Nam Jin-a, a lighting director at the Korean Society of Cinematographers, will receive Kocca’s Film award.