The Boyz turn 'bad' in new album 'Phantasy Pt. 2 Sixth Sense'


The Boyz' latest second full-length album is filled with what the boy band does best, but it's also “something that only The Boyz can pull off,” according to the members.

“Spectacular performances and energetic music are what we do best,” said member Juyeon in a press release on Monday, before releasing the album “Phantasy Pt. 2 Sixth Sense” at 6 p.m.

It is the first album in three months and will be the second installment of the band's “Phantasy” trilogy, following “Phantasy Pt. 1 Christmas in August,” released on Aug. 7.

The album takes on a dark fantasy theme with the members turning into bad boys, contrary to previous concepts, when members were werewolves and fallen angels, according to member Q.

"'Phantasy Pt. 2 Sixth Sense' aims to stimulate the five senses and the 'sixth sense' of its listeners,” Hyunjae said.

“Each track has its own narrative, so it makes you feel like you're watching a film noir while listening to the whole album,” he added.

The new album consists of six tracks, including the lead track “Watch It.”

"'Watch It' is a strong and alluring song with a twist,” Jacob said. “The song will showcase a never-before-seen side of the band, differing from the songs and performances we gave during previous releases.”

"[In the 'Watch It' music video] you can see how The Boyz transformed into bad boys both visually and in terms of performance,” Hyunjae said. “Finding various objects that show duality is also an interesting point that viewers should look out for.”

The album has tracks sung by special units such as Sunwoo and Eric, singing the band's first English track “Honey.”

“It is such a meaningful opportunity to be a part of The Boyz' first English song 'Honey' with Sunwoo,” said Eric, who participated in writing the lyrics of the track. “Sunwoo and I put a lot of thought and effort into creating this song, and I'm thrilled with the final result. I hope the listeners will enjoy it as well.”

“The biggest goal for the members is to make music and performances that everyone wants to listen to and watch,” Jacob said.

“We hope to earn a trophy at music shows and share the happy moments with our fans [through this album],” he said.

The Boyz debuted in December 2017 with the EP “The First.” The group has 11 members: Sangyeon, Jacob, Younghoon, Hyunjae, Juyeon, Kevin, New, Q, Ju Haknyeon, Sunwoo and Eric. The Boyz gained popularity after winning Mnet's music competition show “Road to Kingdom” (2020).

The band will kick off its second world tour, titled “The Boyzs 2nd World Tour: Zeneration — Encore,” on Dec. 1 through Dec. 3 at KSPO Dome, Songpa District, southern Seoul.

To find out more about The Boyz, visit Celeb Confirmed!